So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

I started the blog almost two years ago (June 2015). During that first month I had 300 visitors and 700 page views. Last month there were more than 3 thousand visitors and 7 thousand page views. In between I published 99 posts including conversation and grammar lessons, posts about the CELTA and the DELTA as well as topics such as error correction, feedback, teacher development and pronunciation.

Post number one hundred will be a sad one, however. My first son will be born next month and tgetting ready for fatherhood is taking up all of my free time. So this will be my last post for a little while. I’m planning on writing again in August, but that will depend entirely on how busy I’m then, which I can’t be sure at this moment.

In order to get you through this period I have selected some older posts that may be worth exploring. I’ve put them together in a series of top 5 lists for a total of  20 posts you can read if you miss my writing.

9780330508605

Top 5 favourite posts

These are my favourite for a variety of reasons.

1. Talking about drugs

2. Charity Water

3. Grammar: Inversions in TV series

4. Teaching Curse Words

5. Ethical Living

Top 5 timeless posts

These are conversation lessons about topics that won’t get dated anytime soon.

1. Tattoos

2. Pink Tax

3. Technology (lessons 1 and 2)

4. Breakfast

5. Clothes

Top 5 most popular posts

These are the posts that got the most views since I started the blog.

1. Grammar: third person singular

2. Thanksgiving 2

3. Rio Olympics 1

4. Doing things alone

5. Life Before the Internet

Top 5 posts for teachers

These aren’t covnersation lessons, but tips and tricks for teachers.

1. Using YouTube videos

2. Using coursebooks (parts 1 and 2)

3. Error correction (parts 1 and 2)

4. My bag of tricks

5. Using phonemic symbols

This is it for now. Thanks for reading.

18 thoughts on “So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

  1. It’s a pity to see you go for now, but it’s for a very, VERY good reason.
    Enjoy your time with your baby.
    Thanks for keeping the blog up for us to continue enjoying its content.
    See you soon. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Sandy. A lot of things have changed in my life in the last few months. Wife and I were booked for IATEFL when we found out about the pregnancy and had to cancel things. I think it’s time to slow down bit now and enjoy this next stage of my life. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m so glad to hear about the baby!!!
    May God give you lots of wisdom, love and patience to raise this little one.
    Thank you so much for your posts, specially the conversation lessons… I’ve been using them with my students since last year. My students love them!!! I´ll miss the lessons, but I’ll definitely check out the list you’ve posted.
    Thanks and good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

